Athlete Spotlight: Arianna Meyers

Arianna Meyers ’23 laying the ball up over a defender

Straight out of upstate New York, basketball player Arianna Myers is a powerhouse and unstoppable force.

She is a key player who makes an immediate impact the second she steps out on the court. Taking home a win against rival Hudson, Arianna was the first to score, having 10 points, two 3s in the first quarter, and four assists in total throughout the match. Out of all 38 games she has played at WRA, her average is 13 points per game with 5 rebounds—a remarkable statistic. 

Arianna is a diligent and dedicated player with an unmatched work ethic and abundant love for the game. When asking Arianna what motivates her, she responds stating, “I have an internal drive that tells me what’s meant for me. An internal drive that never stops going off”. Her dream is to play basketball overseas after completing her college career. With her unwavering determination and strong willpower, she is confident that she will overcome any obstacles that may arise during her journey.

Myers’s story is unique and inspiring. She comes from a small mountain town in upstate New York. After attending school in her hometown until sophomore year, she transferred to a larger public school and was recruited to WRA by Coach Thomas Adams-Wall. “Awall found me at a low point in my career,” she remembers, “the day I came to Reserve I knew that this was an opportunity that I couldn’t say no to. I’ll never know how to express my gratitude because I would never expect to be where I am right now if it wasn’t for him recruiting and believing in me as a person and basketball player”. Her determination can be seen on the court and in the classroom. Aside from being a phenomenal player, Myers is an exemplary student. Coming to Reserve, she has had the opportunity to flourish. 

Myers loves spending time with her family—her greatest support system and inspiration off the court. She shares a close bond with her parents and two sisters; being away from them has been challenging, but she continues to thrive, and they continue to always support her. “Despite everything I’ve been through with basketball, every low point, my parents have always picked me up, told me to get going, and push out all the negativity and fear in my head,” Arianna proudly states. 

Her incredible determination will take her career to the collegiate level next year, where we know she will continue to succeed and stand out. Her growth mindset sets her apart and will take her wherever she wants to go in life. We wish Arianna the best of luck. She will be missed, but the legacy she has left with the team will continue to live on. 

Jane Goldman ’23

Leave a comment