Fall Sports Finish

Top : Field Hockey team
Bottom: Daniel Hoffmann ’22 with Coach Haller

Fall sports, opener of the school year, is the first chance for students to get to know one and another to show their Western Reserve Academy spirit. The infamous preseason, as difficult and as demanding as it is, is an opportunity for students to branch out of friend groups and cultivate team bonds. Jazzira Ali ’23 exclaimed, “The beginning of the season was interesting; it was practically a whole new team, but as the season progressed the team grew stronger and closed with a winning record. I was very upset when the season came to an end, especially saying goodbye to our seniors, but I’m glad about the team chemistry.”

For new students, fall sports help make the school feel like a whole. During the warm weather, the teams seize the opportunity to get to know one another and put each other before themselves. “As a newbie to the sport and to the school, the team welcomed me with open arms and helped me find my new family here at Reserve,” said Taylor Zachow ’23. As the season went on, groups began to form and teams were closer than ever.

Over the past few years, WRA has devoted a lot of time and effort to the recruitment process for different sports. The majority of recruits participated in a fall sport as a part of WRA’s three-sport tradition. Jesse Kask ’23 explains, “I was really bad when I first began playing but when Coach Donnelly encouraged me to join Field Hockey and try my best I ended up having a really fun time thanks to the many people I’ve met through the sport. I ended up being very grateful for the experience.”

Many students try new sports when they enter WRA and teams are always welcoming and uplifting towards new players. It is not the coach’s job to teach a student a sport, it is a team effort to all play well together. “I am really grateful to have had such a fun last season with such an energetic and hardworking team. I am happy to end my WRA career on a good note and I will never forget the skills that the soccer team taught me on and off the field. I will deeply miss my teammates which I can proudly say are my forever friends” remarked Lily Schultz ’22.

The final fall sports season for seniors has just ended, and while sad, it is important to look on the bright side and cherish the moments you had with your teammates, or the moments you are looking forward to. Pioneers cannot wait for the winter season to commence!

Claire Lovas ’22

Leave a comment