Marvel’s The Defenders

This August, The Defenders hit the streaming service, and every fan had their breath held. Would the series follow Daredevil, Jessica, and Luke into the best of Netflix, or follow Danny Rand to the Dark Side with Arrow Season 4?

Lucky for us, it leans closer to the first three. One of the best parts is the five fewer episodes it has than the solo shows. Even though it’s strange that the series with all four protagonists would be shorter than all of the shows about only one, it makes it easier to watch in a short span. Plus, there are fewer subplots, making it easier to understand.

In Daredevil, Marvel set the bar extremely high in terms of action. While it can’t come close in here, the four Defenders manage to kick plenty of behind together in stylish fashion.

Is the show perfect? No, the only perfect things are Season 1 of Daredevil, Good Will Hunting, and dogs. While the group of villains they face are interesting and some intimidating, the head honcho Alexandra is a bit underwhelming. I wouldn’t bring it up, but the problem is that it’s Sigourney Weaver in the role! Ellen Ripley does not deserve to be such a weak villain. Another thing is the ending. I won’t spoil it for the uninitiated, but I will say it was disappointing and I would’ve preferred to see a bit of it in the next seasons of the shows, if at all.

Honestly, that’s all I can think of that I dislike about it without saying it just isn’t as good as other superhero adaptations. If I were to give it a grade, the most fitting would be an A-. I highly recommend it to anyone interested in the superhero genre, and I cannot wait for Netflix Phase 2.

– Sam Hoffman ’19

Leave a comment